Richard-Business Eng
Professional Teacher
Some reasons why it is difficult to find a language partner

<o:p> </o:p>italki is a great website to get help to learn or improve the language you are trying to learn.

<o:p></o:p>

Unfortunately, there are many members who find it difficult to find someone to help them.

I started helping some English learners in 2010, as a hobby.  But now that I am an italki English teacher, I’m sorry to say that I do not have any free time to help others.

However, there are other native English speakers who may be interested in learning your native language and helping you learn English. This relationship is called language exchange partners.

It is a little difficult to find a native English speaker to help you because there are so many italki members who want to learn and improve their English skills.

<o:p> </o:p>

Here is a short list of reasons why it is difficult to find a partner (please feel free to add to this list):<o:p></o:p>

- Believe it or not, helping someone is 'work'.

- It may seem like it would be easy to help someone, but it does take time.

- The demand for native English speakers and partners is very high

- Some English learners would prefer to find an exchange partner that is the same gender as the learner, e.g., female-female

- Sometimes it is necessary to do some research to ensure that our comments, corrections or explanations are accurate (and research takes time)

- Some good-hearted people take a fair bit of time to answer a question with a long, thorough and complete answer, and in return get simple 'thanks' in response, and sometimes that response is disappointing.

- Time differences make it difficult to schedule a chat, e.g., Canada/US - Asia, time difference of 12 or 13 hours.

- Some people who ask for help expect too much from the person who is volunteering their time and effort. In that case, they need to hire a teacher.

<o:p> </o:p>