André
how to sound like an american native speaker Hey, how are y'all doing?

I've been working on my accent for a couple months now and I've been struggling so bad with it. No matter how hard I try, some sounds and sound connections I make just don't come out right. My current goal is to speak like an american native speaker, and yeah, I know that's tough and a long path to go, but I stil want to try to get there.

I listen to music and sing along and I've learned the whole IPA alphabet, but when it comes about actually making the sound, I screw it up trying to put my tongue and lips at the right position

Does anyone have any tip on how to sound more like a native? What should I do? Also, is there any accent reduction coach on iTalki?

Oct 31, 2018 12:15 AM
Comments · 18

That’s a good question, Andre. I don’t know of any accent reduction coaches on Italki, but we`ll see what others have to say. 

Phil might be able to help you with it. 

You write pretty well. Why are you concerned about the accent? (By the way, if you say “ya`ll” you will sound like you are from Atlanta, or New Orleans. So you really want to sound like a Southerner? We don`t say that in California. 

October 31, 2018