RinRin
If i learn Chinese can i understand Taiwanese when i go there? I started learning Chinese and then stopped and asked myself if it will even help me if i learn? If i learn how to talk Chinese, And go to Taiwan will i be able to understand them and them me? Or is the difference between the two languages too big ?? Please! i need answers! If it is a big difference, Is there anyone who is willing to help me learn Taiwanese?? Or Not help me literally but can anyone at least give me a good link to someone from youtube that teaches Taiwanese well? I really want to learn Taiwanese, I need serious help!!! D: Thank you in advanced.
Aug 5, 2013 2:28 AM
Comments · 12

Nowadays , more than 99 % Taiwanese can speak Mandarin fluently which is almost the same as China's official language aside from a couple of terms. The nuance is like the difference between British English and American English . It is supposed that if you can speak Mandarin learned in Taiwan , you may well communicate with Chinese speaking people in China . Chinese (Mandarin) is still the official language in Taiwan . 

In terms of Taiwanese ,also popular in Singapore ,  generally speaking , not every Taiwanese (Hokken) can speak fluent Taiwanese notably young people below 40 years old .  I am a fluent Taiwanese speaker and I assume most young people's Taiwanese level is worse than me . It is not easy to find a reliable Taiwanese language partner to practice Taiwanese, though here are lots of language lessons in Taiwan . But I do not think it is practical to learn Taiwanese at the moment while you are traveling in Taiwan especially you are not really living in Taiwan for a long time. If you really want to learn Taiwanese , I may practice speaking and listening with you in Taiwanese . Nevertheless, I am not a qualified Taiwanese(Hokken)  teacher so I would be unable to teach you Taiwanese in a systematic approach.

August 12, 2013

Thank you each and everyone!